ENGAGE
Search…
⌃K

Managing the microphones of all users

During a Session, you may want to mute the microphones of all users. For example, to ensure silence before someone delivers a presentation. In metaworld locations, you may want to adjust the settings so that all LITE users are permanently muted.
Mic options on the Session Settings tab.

Muting all users

To mute all users regardless of their subscription type, complete the following steps:
  1. 1.
    Open your menu or tablet, select the Users page, and then select Session Settings.
  2. 2.
    Select Mic.
  3. 3.
    In the Mute users dialog, turn on the Mute all users toggle.
  4. 4.
    Optional: To allow users to unmute themselves, turn on the Allow user to unmute themselves toggle.
  5. 5.
    Select Apply.
If you choose not to let users unmute themselves, all users in the Session will remain muted until you return to Mute users dialog and change the settings. Hosts are not affected by these settings.
If you allow users to unmute their microphones, the Mute all users toggle remains on, even if individual users unmute themselves. To mute all users again, turn the Mute all users toggle off and then on again.

Muting LITE users

LITE users are those that have registered for a free account. In some circumstances you may want to mute LITE users. For example, to reduce potential annoyances in public spaces that aren't moderated, or to provide a premium event experience for PLUS and ENTERPRISE users.
To mute all LITE users in a Session, complete the following steps:
  1. 1.
    Open your menu or tablet, select the Users page, and then select Session Settings.
  2. 2.
    Select Mic.
  3. 3.
    In the Mute users dialog, turn on the Hard mute LITE users toggle.
If the Hard mute LITE users toggle is turned on, a host can unmute individual LITE users. For instructions on how to unmute an individual user, see Managing the microphone of an individual user.